

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

# BALTIMORE REGIONAL SAFETY SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, December 17, 2020 10:05 to 11:09 A.M. Virtual meeting

## MINUTES

### 1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Ms. Cindy Burch, Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC), called the meeting to order at 10:05 A.M. She welcomed everyone to this online meeting and noted that Chairperson Denise Worsley, Baltimore City Department of Transportation (BCDOT), will be joining shortly.

### 2. APPROVAL OF SEPTEMBER MINUTES

Ms. Burch asked for any comments or changes to the minutes from the September 24, 2020 Baltimore Regional Safety Subcommittee meeting. Receiving none, the minutes were accepted into the record.

### 3. STATE UPDATE

Ms. Anna Levendusky, Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) Highway Safety Office (MHSO), presented the new *Be the Driver* campaign materials. She explained that it is a multi-faceted campaign that will address the most common behavioral issues (e.g. impaired, distracted) and include a general safe driving component. Social media materials are available on the zerodeathsmd.gov website.

### [PowerPoint: Be the Driver]

### 4. BRTB UPDATE

Ms. Burch shared crash data trends and safety performance measures that will be presented to the Baltimore Regional Transportation Board for adoption. She explained, similar to the State, that each year Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPO) are required to adopt performance targets for fatalities, fatality rate per vehicle mile traveled (VMT), serious injuries, serious injury rate per VMT, and non-motorized fatalities and serious injuries.

She also presented a brief introduction to the new federal performance measures and targets for transit safety. Any agency receiving federal funds under the Federal Transit Administration's Urbanized Area Formula Grants must develop and submit a Public

\* 1500 Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 \* Phone 410-732-0500 \* www.baltometro.org
Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Queen Anne's County, MD Department of Transportation and Harford Transit. Non-Voting: MD Department of the Environment, MD Department of Planning, and MD Transit Administration.

Safety Subcommittee December 17, 2020 Page 2 of 3

Transportation Agency Safety Plan (PTASP) with seven performance targets: total fatalities, fatalities per vehicle revenue miles (VRM), injuries, injuries per VRM, safety events, safety events per VRM, and VRM between failures (a measure of system of reliability). Similar to the traffic safety performance targets, MPOs must set regional transit targets within 180 days of the PTASP submission.

## [PowerPoint: Safety Targets for 2021]

### 5. TRANSPORTATION PLANNING BOARD REGIONAL SAFETY PROGRAM

Mr. Jon Schermann, National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board (TPB), shared information about a recent safety study and the new TPB Regional Safety Program. He explained the potential for funding beginning in FY2021, the application process, and program priorities.

### [PowerPoint: TPB Regional Safety Program]

### 6. LOCAL STRATEGIC HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN (SHSP) UPDATES

Ms. Burch shared updates on strategic planning in each jurisdiction and included attendees.

She shared that Anne Arundel County is convening a Vision Zero Steering Committee and plans to develop a strategic plan by the end of 2021. This effort is being led by partners in the Office of Transportation.

Ms. Burch noted that Baltimore County has completed development of an SHSP and is pursuing endorsement from the County Executive. Plans are set to begin implementation in January 2021.

She then shared that the Harford County Traffic Safety Advisory Board has reviewed the draft SHSP and plans are still to begin implementation in early 2021. After that is complete, the team will begin a comprehensive evaluation of the current plan.

Ms. Burch then noted that the Howard County Strategic Road Safety Plan was announced in October, in coordination with the Look Alive campaign, and at the Transportation Town hall meeting in November. The plan is on the county website for public review.

### 7. OTHER BUSINESS

• Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP)

Ms. Burch shared that the MDOT State Highway Administration (SHA) is developing a process for distributing HSIP funding for local projects. Mr. Jay Zheng, MDOT SHA, noted that the process should be announced before summer 2021.

No other discussion was had and Ms. Worsley adjourned the meeting at 11:09 A.M.

Next Meeting – February 25, 2021, 10:00 A.M.

#### Attendance:

Kim Auman - National Study Center for Trauma & EMS Pam Beer – Cambridge Systematics Jessie Bialek – Baltimore County Department of Public Works (BCoDPW) Mike Bomgardner - Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) Highway Safety Office (MHSO) Summer Bowman – Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Jim Brown – Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems David Cookson – Howard County Office of Transportation Lindsay Donnellon – Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Subin George – Howard County Department of Public Works Matthew Hendrickson - Baltimore City Department of Transportation (BCDOT) Breck Jeffers – FHWA Tim Kerns – MHSO Bari Klein - Healthy Harford/Healthy Cecil Julie Kwedar – MHSO Mike Lane - Harford County Sheriff's Office Anna Levendusky – MHSO John Rotz – MDOT State Highway Administration (SHA) Jon Schermann – National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board Nanette Schieke – MDOT MVA Sam Snead – BCoDPW Christina Utz - MHSO Nicole Waldheim – Burgess & Niple Tracy Whitman – Maryland Department of Health - Kids in Safety Seats Myra Wieman – MHSO Tina Williams – MHSO Denise Worsley - BCDOT Mikah Zaslow - BCDOT Jay Zheng – MDOT SHA

### Staff:

Bala Akundi – Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Cindy Burch – BMC