

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

BALTIMORE REGIONAL SAFETY SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, February 25, 2021 10:02 to 11:35 A.M. Virtual meeting

MINUTES

1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Ms. Cindy Burch, Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC), called the meeting to order at 10:02 A.M. She welcomed everyone to this online meeting and noted that the Chairperson position is open. Please volunteer or send nominations to Ms. Burch.

2. APPROVAL OF DECEMBER MINUTES

Ms. Burch asked for any comments or changes to the minutes from the December 21, 2020 Baltimore Regional Safety Subcommittee meeting. Receiving none, the minutes were accepted into the record.

3. STATE STRATEGIC HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN

Ms. Myra Wieman, Deputy Director of the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) Highway Safety Office (MHSO), presented the recently approved Maryland Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP) for 2021-2025. She explained the role of the SHSP, how this version has been updated, and new special vehicles and environments that were not in previous plans. She also noted the importance of local SHSPs and the *Be the Driver* media campaign.

[PowerPoint: Maryland's SHSP]

4. FEDERAL UPDATES

Mr. Philip Thomas, Administrator of the Maryland Division of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), shared results of a recent analysis of economic costs of commercial motor vehicle crashes. He explained that, while crashes involving commercial motor vehicles are not the most common occurrence, the economic costs of fatal, injury, and non-injury crashes is significant. He also announced the High Priority-Commercial Motor Vehicle Grant program that was released (<u>https://www.grants.gov/web/grants/view-opportunity.html?oppId=331174</u>).

[PowerPoint: Economic Cost of Crashes]

★ 1500 Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 ★ Phone 410-732-0500 ★ www.baltometro.org
Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Queen Anne's County, MD Department of Transportation and Annapolis Transit. Non-Voting: MD Department of the Environment, MD Department of Planning, and MD Transit Administration.

Safety Subcommittee February 25, 2021 Page 2 of 3

Mr. Breck Jeffers, Operations and Safety Engineer for the Maryland Division of the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), presented information on the Safe Systems Approach (SSA). He also previewed an upcoming FHWA webinar: This webinar will provide an overview of SSA with background, principles, key elements, and examples; using a presentation that FHWA intends for our partners to use in spreading awareness of SSA. This webinar will also provide a walk-through for how to use the presentation. FHWA recognizes that reaching zero is a shared responsibility and will require a significant effort by everyone.

[PowerPoint: Safe Systems Approach]

5. EMERGING TECHNOLOGY PROJECTS

Mr. Carole Delion, Division Chief and Connected and Automated Vehicles (CAV) Program Manager at the MDOT State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA), shared information about two programs in development related to vulnerable road users. The Pedestrian Infrastructure to Vehicle (I2V) Deployment in Prince George's County will alert vehicles when a pedestrian is in the road ahead. It will not affect the roles or responsibilities of pedestrians or drivers. The statewide Vulnerable Roadway User Safety Exposure Dashboard will quantify exposure, crashes, and risks at the intersection and roadway segment level.

[PowerPoint: PedI2V & Dashboard]

6. OTHER/NEW BUSINES

Ms. Burch shared an update provided by Mr. Matthew Hendrickson, Lead Bike Planner at the Baltimore City Department of Transportation.

No other discussion was had and Ms. Burch adjourned the meeting at 11:35 A.M.

Next Meeting – May 27, 2021, 10:00 A.M.

Safety Subcommittee February 25, 2021 Page 3 of 3

Attendance:

Tanya Asman – Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation Kim Auman – National Study Center for Trauma & EMS Pam Beer – Cambridge Systematics Jessie Bialek – Baltimore County Department of Public Works Jennifer Biddle – Howard County Department of Public Works Mike Bomgardner - Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) Highway Safety Office (MHSO) Summer Bowman – Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) Jim Brown – Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems Carole Delion – MDOT State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) Lindsay Donnellon – Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Michael Farrell – National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board (TPB) Tristan Jackson – Burgess & Niple Breck Jeffers – FHWA Debbie Jennings - Chesapeake Region Safety Council Bari Klein – Healthy Harford/Healthy Cecil Erin Kuhn – MDOT SHA Tina Regester – MDOT SHA Dominic Scali – Anne Arundel County Police Department Jon Schermann – TPB Nanette Schieke – MDOT MVA Philip Thomas - FMCSA Nicole Waldheim – Burgess & Niple Tracy Whitman – Maryland Department of Health - Kids in Safety Seats Mvra Wieman – MHSO Tina Williams – MHSO Graham Young – Baltimore City Department of Transportation (BCDOT) Mikah Zaslow - BCDOT Jay Zheng – MDOT SHA

Staff:

Bala Akundi – Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Regina Aris – BMC Cindy Burch – BMC Todd Lang - BMC