

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

BALTIMORE REGIONAL SAFETY SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, May 27, 2021 10:02 to 10:52 A.M. Virtual meeting

MINUTES

1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Ms. Cindy Burch, Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC), called the meeting to order at 10:02 A.M. She welcomed everyone to this online meeting and announced that Officer Lori Hippensteel of the Baltimore County Police Department is the new chairperson.

2. APPROVAL OF FEBRUARY MINUTES

Ofc. Hippensteel asked for any comments or changes to the minutes from the February 25, 2021 Baltimore Regional Safety Subcommittee meeting. Receiving none, the minutes were accepted into the record.

3. STATE SAFETY UPDATES

Mr. Tim Richards, Safety Programs Manager of the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Motor Vehicle Administration's (MVA) Highway Safety Office (MHSO), presented information about an upcoming speed management project. Engineering, enforcement, and outreach efforts will be focused in Bishopville and Pinesburg will serve as a control site. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) will conduct pre- and post-surveys, while MDOT State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) will implement low-cost roadway countermeasures, and MHSO will fund enforcement details and a media campaign. If proven effective, this program may be an option for the Baltimore region.

[PowerPoint: MHSO 2021 Bishopville Project]

4. LOOK ALIVE

Mr. Bala Akundi, BMC, shared an update on the Look Alive campaign, the recent Spring launch events, and plans for FY 2022. There was a press event in Anne Arundel County on April 29 and an outreach event in Baltimore County on May 25. Ofc. Hippensteel added that the next Signal People event in Baltimore County will be in October and other local partners will show support.

[PowerPoint: Look Alive Update]

5. LOCAL STRATEGIC HIGHWAY SAFETY PLANS

Ms. Burch shared an update of the Local SHSPs in the region: Anne Arundel County is developing a Vision Zero plan with a completion target of July, Baltimore City is finalizing the Speed Management Action Plan (SMAP) workshop report for inclusion in an updated Vision Zero plan, Baltimore County is implementing an SHSP, Carroll County is finishing review of a draft Strategic Traffic Safety Plan (STSP) for executive approval, Harford County approved the SHSP last week, Howard County is implementing a Strategic Road Safety Plan (SRSP), and plans are being made to reconvene the Queen Anne's County SHSP team.

Mr. Sam Snead, Baltimore County Department of Public Works and Transportation (BCo DPWT), added that the county team has been meeting regularly during implementation, the Baltimore County Executive endorsed the plan, and it will be posted on the MHSO website. He encouraged other teams to also post their plans. Ms. Tanya Asman, Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation, asked about forthcoming Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP) funds (see more below). Ms. Mikah Zaslow, Baltimore City Department of Transportation (BCDOT), confirmed that the SMAP draft report is circulating for final comment.

Ms. Burch then shared that HSIP funds are being made available for local road projects and Mr. Cedric Ward, MDOT SHA, answered questions. He stated that an approved local SHSP is required to be eligible for funding, with approved meaning executive approval. Ideal projects for this first year of the program will be low-cost, quicker delivery that come under the systemic approach and those parameters may change in future years. Mr. Ward estimated that the state received approximately \$35 million for the HSIP from the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) last year, from which these projects would be funded. He explained that project applications should include the full lifecycle from planning to design to construction. There is a 90/10 match required and the due date for application is July 1, 2021. MDOT SHA encourages local teams to apply.

6. OTHER/NEW BUSINES

Ofc. Hippensteel noted a concern about excessive speeding, especially on highways, and asked the group for successful interventions. Mr. Graham Young, BCDOT, discussed adaptive signal timing and the effect of pandemic-related traffic patterns. He shared that, after volume levels decreased in 2020, some roads have seen traffic return to historic levels while others have not. With no changes to signal timing, this has affected driving behaviors and potentially encourages speeding so drivers take advantage of the excessive green light times that were set when traffic was heavier. Mr. Ward noted a similar problem and shared information about several options and capabilities for adaptive signal timing to possibly combat this issue. Mr. Ward also noted that MDOT SHA is working with the Maryland State Police and Maryland Transportation Authority Police to conduct more work zone speed enforcement initiatives because those excessive highway speeds have contributed to work zone incidents.

No other discussion was had and Ofc. Hippensteel adjourned the meeting at 10:52 A.M.

Next Meeting – September 23, 2021, 10:00 A.M.

Safety Subcommittee May 27, 2021 Page 3 of 3

Attendance:

Tanya Asman – Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation Pam Beer – Cambridge Systematics Jessie Bialek – Baltimore County Department of Public Works and Transportation (BCo DPWT) Jennifer Biddle - Howard County Department of Public Works Mike Bomgardner - Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Motor Vehicle Administration's (MVA) Highway Safety Office (MHSO) Rebecca Bosley – Maryland State Police (MSP) Summer Bowman – Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration David Cookson – Howard County Office of Transportation Michael Farrell – National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board (TPB) Wellington Felix – National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Matthew Hendrickson – Baltimore City Department of Transportation (BCDOT) Lori Hippensteel – Baltimore County Police Department Debbie Jennings - Chesapeake Region Safety Council Erin Kuhn – MDOT State Highway Administration (SHA) Julie Kwedar – MHSO Peter Moe – MDOT MVA Doug Mowbray – MHSO Janie Nham – TPB Walter Phillips – MDOT SHA Tina Regester – MDOT SHA Tim Richards – MHSO Dominic Scali – Anne Arundel County Police Department Jon Schermann – TPB Nanette Schieke – MDOT MVA Sam Snead – BCo DPWT Christina Utz - MHSO Cedric Ward – MDOT SHA Ida Williams – MSP Tina Williams – MHSO Graham Young – BCDOT Mikah Zaslow – BCDOT Jay Zheng – MDOT SHA

Staff:

Bala Akundi – Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Regina Aris – BMC Cindy Burch – BMC