

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

# BALTIMORE REGIONAL SAFETY SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, September 23, 2021 10:00 to 11:35 A.M. Virtual meeting

# MINUTES

# 1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Officer Lori Hippensteel, Baltimore County Police Department (BCoPD), called the meeting to order at 10:00 A.M. She welcomed everyone to this online meeting.

# 2. APPROVAL OF MAY MINUTES

Ofc. Hippensteel, BCoPD, asked for any comments or changes to the minutes from the May 27, 2021 Baltimore Regional Safety Subcommittee meeting. Receiving none, the minutes were accepted into the record.

# 3. STATE SAFETY UPDATES

Ms. Anna Levendusky, Communications Manager of the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration's (MDOT MVA) Highway Safety Office (MHSO), shared information about media campaign resources and walked the group through the new <u>zerodeathsmd.gov</u> website. From the main page, there is a link to the Be The Driver comprehensive media campaign (How you can help > Be the Driver). The page contains resources based on sub-theme (e.g. impaired, distracted driving) and monthly social media toolkits that are released the first week of each month. Using the menus along the top of the page, lists of partner agencies and grantees can be found as well as crash data and event resources. Under the Resources – Community Outreach section, links to local Strategic Highway Safety Plans and request forms for MHSO support are available.

Ms. Myra Wieman, Deputy Director of MHSO, shared upcoming projects for FY 2022 that will happen throughout the Baltimore region. Project managers on the call also shared some detail about the programs and contact information:

- Morgan State University Mansoureh Jeihani <u>mansoureh.jeihani@morgan.edu</u>
- Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) Bryna Clark-Braverman <u>bryna.clarkbraverman@madd.org</u>
- Crash Core Becca Dryer (<u>bdrayer@crashcoremd.org</u>), Becky Spicer (<u>rspicer@crashcoremd.org</u>), Janet Bahouth (<u>jbahouth@crashcoremd.org</u>)

\* 1500 Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 \* Phone 410-732-0500 \* www.baltometro.org
Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Queen Anne's County, MD Department of Transportation and Annapolis Transit. Non-Voting: MD Department of the Environment, MD Department of Planning, and MD Transit Administration.

- Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA) Becky Slogeris (bslogeris@mica.edu)
- Baltimore City Department of Transportation (BCDOT) Meg Young <u>meg.young@baltimorecity.gov</u>
- Chesapeake Region Safety Council (CRSC) Debbie Jennings (debbie@chesapeakec.org)

# [PowerPoint: MHSO FY 2022 region grants]

# 4. LOOK ALIVE

Ms. Kenna Swift, Sherry Matthews Group, shared an update on the Look Alive campaign, the recent Summer and planned Fall events, and overall success of FY 2021. There are four Signal People events scheduled to lead into Pedestrian Safety Month in October:

- Anne Arundel County: 9/30, 4-7pm @ MD 450 and MD 2
- Baltimore County: 10/1, 4-7pm @ Liberty & Old Court
- Howard County: 10/2, 10a-2pm @ 8825-8815 Centre Park Dr, Columbia, MD 21045 and Centre Park Drive and MD108
- Baltimore City: 10/2, 4-7pm @ Pratt St and Light St and W Pratt and S Paca St

# [PowerPoint: BMC Look Alive Summary]

# 5. LOCAL STRATEGIC HIGHWAY SAFETY PLANS

Ms. Cindy Burch, Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC), shared an update of the Local SHSPs in the region: Anne Arundel County has developed a Vision Zero plan and is working on targets and performance measures as the last piece, Baltimore City is finalizing is implementing the Complete Streets Policy and updating a Vision Zero plan, Baltimore County is implementing an SHSP and working on data quality analyses, Carroll County is finishing review of a draft Strategic Traffic Safety Plan (STSP) for executive approval, Harford County approved the SHSP and members of the Traffic Safety Advisory Board will form an implementation team, Howard County is implementing a Strategic Road Safety Plan (SRSP) as the police department and transportation offices work together on crash data analyses, and plans are being made to reconvene the Queen Anne's County SHSP team.

# 6. RESILIENCE 2050: LONG-RANGE TRANSPORTATION PLAN

Mr. Zach Kaufman, BMC, shared the long-range transportation\_planning\_(LRTP) process with the committee and explained the opportunities for providing feedback on the draft goals and strategies for the upcoming LRTP, *Resilience 2050*. Interested parties can comment on the draft goals and strategies through Tuesday, October 12 via several different methods (online survey located at publicinput.com/Resilience2050goals, voicemail, texting). He also outlined the safety criteria for project scoring in the plan; more information is available at Resilience2050.com.

# [PowerPoint: BRTB Long-Range Transportation Plan Update]

Safety Subcommittee September 23, 2021 Page 3 of 4

#### 7. OTHER/NEW BUSINES

No other discussion was had and Ofc. Hippensteel, BCoPD, adjourned the meeting at 11:35 A.M.

Next Meeting – December 16, 2021, 10:00 A.M.

#### Attendance:

Daniel Allen – Baltimore County Dept. of Public Works and Transportation (BCo DPWT) Tanya Asman – Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation Janet Bahouth - Crash Core Pam Beer – Cambridge Systematics Jessie Bialek – BCo DPWT Jennifer Biddle – Howard County Department of Public Works Summer Bowman – Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Bryna Clark-Braverman – Mothers Against Drunk Driving Jim Brown – Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems Becca Drayer - Crash Core Lindsay Donnellon – Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Jerry Eaton – Harford County Sheriff's Office Michael Farrell – National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board Wellington Felix - National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Lori Hippensteel – Baltimore County Police Department Tristan Jackson – Burgess & Niple Debbie Jennings - Chesapeake Region Safety Council Breck Jeffers – FHWA Mansoureh Jeihani – Morgan State University Tim Kerns – Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Motor Vehicle Administrations (MVA) Highway Safety Office (MHSO) Bari Klein - Health Harford/Healthy Cecil Erin Kuhn – MDOT State Highway Administration (SHA) Anna Levendusky – MHSO Barry List - MDOT SHA Peter Moe – MDOT MVA Walter Phillips – MDOT SHA Tina Regester – MDOT SHA Dominic Scali – Anne Arundel County Police Department Becky Slogeris – Maryland Institute College of Art Rebecca Spicer – Crash Core Kenna Swift – Sherry Matthews Group Christina Utz - MHSO Nicole Waldheim – Burgess & Niple Myra Wieman – MHSO Graham Young – Baltimore City Department of Transportation (BCDOT) Meg Young – BCDOT

Safety Subcommittee September 23, 2021 Page 4 of 4

**Staff:** Bala Akundi – Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Regina Aris – BMC Cindy Burch – BMC Zach Kaufman - BMC