

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

May 6, 2022 8:58 – 9:23 A.M. Virtual Meeting

MINUTES

1. DISCUSSION OF AGENDA FOR THE MAY 24, 2022 BRTB MEETING

Action Items:

- Resolution #22-14 is a request from MDOT MTA to amend the FY 2022-2025 TIP to increase Section 5339 funding for the Rural Transit Systems – Capital Assistance project.
- Appointment of a Nominating Committee to present a slate of oficers for FY 2023.

Informational Items:

- Greater Baltimore Committee Mr. Don Fry will share the GBC's and the Greater Washington Partnership's transportation priorities.
- New BIL Formula Programs and Grants Mr. Todd Lang will update the BRTB on various formula and discretionary grant programs at the federal and state level.

The Executive Committee approved the Action and Informational Items for the May BRTB agenda.

2. TIP ADMINISTRATIVE MODIFICATIONS

The Executive Committee was also asked to consider two Administrative Modifications to the FY 2022-2025 TIP (both are from MDOT MTA). Details of the two are below:

- Urban Transit Systems Capital Assistance Capital assistance for the purchase of vehicles, equipment, and facilities, for Harford County (Harford County Transportation Services). Planned purchases include a heavy duty bus replacement, continued preventive maintenance, and 4 small bus replacements. This will provide an additional \$900,000 for capital assistance.
- Small Urban Transit Systems Capital Assistance Capital assistance to small urban transit systems throughout the region to purchase vehicles, equipment, and facilities. The Baltimore region's small urban transit system includes Carroll Transit System, Anne Arundel County, The City of Annapolis, and Howard County. Planned purchases include

1500 Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 ★ Phone 410-732-0500 ★ www.baltometro.org

Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Queen Anne's County, MD Department of Transportation and Annapolis Transit. Non-Voting: MD Department of the Environment, MD Department of Planning, and MD Transit Administration. 2 small bus replacements, a minivan replacement, 2 heavy duty bus replacements, and continued preventative maintenance. This will provide an additional 745,000 for capital assistance.

The Executive Committee discussed, and then approved, both administrative modifications.

3. OTHER BUSINESS

Discussion of format for BRTB meetings. Mr. Lang discussed the approach the Technical Committee agreed on at their May meeting which was in-person. Mr. Lang then asked the members what format they want to pursue. A range of issues were discussed including: concern over in-person, busy schedules, and confusion month to month on how to be present. At this point guests will be virtual only. For May, the Executive Committee decided on a hybrid meeting, allowing members to participate in person or virtual.

MDOT mentioned a possible nomination of I-95 as a hydrogen fuel corridor.

MEMBERS

Sam Snead – Anne Arundel County - Chair Tyson Byrne – Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) (by phone) D'Andrea Walker – Baltimore County – Vice Chair

STAFF AND GUESTS

Regina Aris – Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Dan Janousek - MDOT Todd Lang – BMC