

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

INTERAGENCY CONSULTATION GROUP

May 18, 2016 Baltimore Metropolitan Council 9:40 to 9:55 A.M.

MINUTES

The meeting was called to order at 9:40 A.M. by Ms. Sara Tomlinson (BMC).

1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Ms. Tomlinson welcomed members and guests to the meeting.

2. APPROVAL OF THE APRIL 2016 MINUTES

The minutes of the April 6th meeting were presented. Mr. Tony McClune (BRTB) made a motion to approve the minutes and Ms. Colleen Turner (MDOT) seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

3. REVIEW AND APPROVE DRAFT CONFORMITY RESULTS FOR THE CONFORMITY DETERMINATION OF THE FY 2017-2020 TIP AND AMENDED MAXIMIZE2040 (MD 32)

Ms. Tomlinson presented results of the conformity analysis emissions modeling for summer daily nitrogen oxides (NOx) emissions, summer daily volatile organic compounds (VOCs), annual tons of fine particulate matter (PM2.5), and annual tons of NOx. Estimated emissions are below established SIP motor vehicle emission budgets for these pollutants. Mr. Roger Thunnell (MDE) said that MDE approves the results and they will listen for public comment. He also noted that the Bump-Up Ozone SIP budgets did not have a margin of safety, and the emissions are below the budgets. Ms. Tomlinson and Mr. Charles Baber (BMC) noted that estimated emissions of daily NOx are higher than the previous conformity determination due to the fact that new MOVES 2014 defaults are being used in the analysis.

Mr. Thunnell suggested if the graphs are shared in the future, that it be labeled that the budgets used in the conformity analysis for ozone are from the 2008 ozone standard, not the 2015 ozone standard. This information is included in the draft conformity document. The ICG members unanimously voted

Offices @ McHenry Row ★ 1500 Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 ★ Phone 410-732-0500 ★ www.baltometro.org Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, MD Department of Transportation, MD Transit Administration. Non-Voting: MD Dept. of the Environment, MD Dept. of Planning, Queen Anne's County

Interagency Consultation Group May 18, 2016 Page No. 2 of 2

to approved these results to share with the public during the conformity determination comment period.

4. OTHER BUSINESS

Ms. Tomlinson asked if any of the members had any other business to discuss. Hearing none, she asked for the meeting to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 9:45 A.M. The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, July 6, 2016 at 9:30 A.M.

ATTENDANCE

Members

Colleen Turner - Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Roger Thunnell – Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) Anthony McClune - Baltimore Regional Transportation Board (BRTB)

Staff and Guests

Charles Baber - Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Alex Brun – MDE Tyson Byrne – MDOT Sara Tomlinson – BMC