

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

INTERAGENCY CONSULTATION GROUP

May 17, 2017 Teleconference 1:00 P.M. to 1:17 P.M.

MINUTES

The meeting was called to order at 1:00 P.M. by Ms. Sara Tomlinson (BMC).

1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Ms. Tomlinson welcomed members and guests to the call.

2. APPROVAL OF PAST MEETING MINUTES

The minutes of the April 18th, 2017 meeting were presented. Mr. Tony McClune (BRTB) made a motion to approve the minutes and Mr. Brian Hug (MDE) seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

3. CONFORMITY DETERMINATION OF THE FY 2018-2021 TIP AND AMENDED MAXIMIZE2040

Ms. Tomlinson first discussed small changes in the "Eight Hour Ozone Standard" section of the Draft Conformity Determination of the FY 2018-2020 TIP and Amended Plan as suggested by MDE. One of the dates referred to in the draft will also be changed. The draft conformity and the 2018-2021 TIP will be released on May 23rd for a 30-day public review period.

Ms. Tomlinson said that the BMC staff ran the MOVES model, and they have results for emissions from the transportation network in 2020, 2030, and 2040. Emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and nitrogen oxides (NOx) were estimated. The budgets that are being used in the "budget test" for conformity are 40.2 tons per summer day of VOC's and 93.5 tons per summer day of NOx. These budgets are from the 2012 8-hour ozone Reasonable Further Progress (RFP) State Implementation Plan (SIP). These budgets were set to address the 1997 ozone standard. Ms. Tomlinson asked for confirmation from MDE that their numbers match the BMC numbers. Ms. Marcia Ways (MDE) confirmed that the numbers do match. The emissions resulting from the transportation network with implementation of TIP and Plan projects, as scheduled, do not result in emissions above the budget.

^{★ 1500} Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 ★ Phone 410-732-0500 ★ www.baltometro.org Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Queen Anne's County, MD Department of Transportation and Harford Transit. Non-Voting: MD Department of the Environment, MD Department of Planning, and MD Transit Administration.

Interagency Consultation Group May 17, 2017 Page No. 2 of 2

Mr. Hug motioned to approve the draft conformity results to be released for the Conformity Determination public comment period. Mr. Tyson Byrne (MDOT) seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

In response to a question regarding the difference between the information in Figure 1. Baltimore Region Ozone Monitors: Ambient Air Quality 8-hour Ozone Design Values, (2011 to 2013) and (2014 to 2016) and Tables 5 and 6 showing the Emissions Test Results, Mr. Hug explained that the SIP budgets that emissions are being compared to in Tables 5 and 6 address an older National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) than the NAAQS shown in Figure 1. The Baltimore region will likely be designated "marginal nonattainment" for the 2015 Ozone NAAQS, later this year.

4. TIP AMENDMENTS

Mr. Zach Kaufman (BMC) presented information on two draft amendments to the Amended 2017-2020 TIP, as shown below. The ICG determined that both of these amendments are exempt from conformity requirements. They will not increase capacity.

- MD 45: Padonia Rd. to Wight Ave. - Replace 24-inch water main and resurface roadway

- **Fixed Location Train Detection and Worker Warning System** – Install a fixed deployment application of a system along the entire length of the MTA Light Rail line as part of a study that will analyze the system's effectiveness. This system alerts workers of oncoming light rail vehicles.

5. OTHER BUSINESS

Ms. Tomlinson asked if any of the members had any other business to discuss. Hearing none, she asked for the meeting to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 1:17 P.M.

ATTENDANCE BY PHONE

Members

Colleen Turner - Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Brian Hug – Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) Anthony McClune - Baltimore Regional Transportation Board (BRTB)

Staff and Guests

Kwame Arhin - Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Regina Aris - Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Tyson Byrne - MDOT Zach Kaufman - BMC Sara Tomlinson – BMC Marcia Ways – MDE Chris Witt - MDOT