

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

# INTERAGENCY CONSULTATION GROUP

June 2, 2021 Virtual Meeting 9:33 – 9:49 A.M.

# MINUTES

The meeting was called to order at 9:33 A.M. by Ms. Nicole Hebert (BMC).

# 1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Ms. Hebert welcomed members and guests to the meeting. Attendees were then asked to introduce themselves.

### 2. APPROVAL OF THE APRIL 2021 MINUTES

The ICG was asked to review the minutes of the April 7th ICG meeting. Ms. Alex Brun (MDE) made a motion to approve the minutes. Mr. Alex Rawls (BRTB) seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

### 3. CONFORMITY DETERMINATION OF THE 2022-2025 TIP AND MAXIMIZE 2045

Prior to the meeting, Ms. Hebert emailed to ICG members the draft conformity determination of the 2022-2025 TIP and Maximize 2045. This document included modeling results. Ms. Hebert walked attendees through the results that were generated by BMC and confirmed by MDE.

The results of the emissions analysis of the 2022-2025 TIP and *Maximize 2045*, as shown in the tables below, demonstrate that emissions are below levels necessary to demonstrate conformity to the 1997 8-hour ozone standard, the 2008 8-hour ozone standard, and the 2015 8-hour ozone standard.

Average summer weekday emissions of VOCs and NOx resulting from the region's transportation network in 2022, 2025, 2035 and 2045 are below the most recent approved/ adequate SIP budgets.

★ 1500 Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 ★ Phone 410-732-0500 ★ www.baltometro.org

Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Queen Anne's County, MD Department of Transportation and Annapolis Transit. Non-Voting: MD Department of the Environment, MD Department of Planning, and MD Transit Administration.

	2022	2025	2035	2045
Total Emissions	19.1	16.3	10.3	9.4
Conformity Budget <sup>1</sup>	40.2	40.2	40.2	40.2
Conformity Result	Pass	Pass	Pass	Pass

VOC Emissions Test Results (average summer weekday, tons/day)

2012, 8-hour ozone Reasonable Further Progress (RFP) SIP budget for the Baltimore region (motor vehicle emission budgets determined adequate by EPA on February 22, 2016)

Weekday NOx Emissions Test Results (average summer weekday, tons/day)

	2022	2025	2035	2045
Total Emissions	34.4	25.2	15.6	15.2
Conformity Budget <sup>1</sup>	93.5	93.5	93.5	93.5
Conformity Result	Pass	Pass	Pass	Pass

2012, 8-hour ozone Reasonable Further Progress (RFP) SIP budget for the Baltimore region (motor vehicle emission budgets determined adequate by EPA on February 22, 2016)

Ms. Virginia Burke (MDOT) made a motion to approve the emissions results as presented. Ms. Brun seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously. Mr. Dan Janousek wondered about the financial forecast that was included in the documentation. Ms. Regina Aris (BMC) clarified that the horizon year for the model testing, demographic data and financial forecast were all 2045. The recent request by BMC to MDOT for a financial forecast out to 2050 was intended to start the process for the next long-range transportation plan when the out-year is planned to be extended.

# 4. MEMBER UPDATES

### BRTB

Mr. Rawls notified the group that the BRTB Nominating Committee had recommended Anne Arundel County for Chair and Baltimore County for Vice Chair for FY 2022. The election will take place at the June 22 BRTB meeting.

MDE, MDOT, EPA Region 3, FHWA – Maryland Division, and FTA Region 3 did not have any updates.

# 5. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no further business that anyone had to share. Ms. Hebert reminded the group that the next ICG meeting will be a joint meeting with the Technical Committee and is scheduled for July 13 at 9:30 A.M. The meeting ended at 9:49.

Interagency Consultation Group June 2, 2021 Page No. 3 of 3

#### ATTENDANCE

#### Members

Alex Brun – Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) Virginia Burke – Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Alex Rawls – Baltimore Regional Transportation Board (BRTB)

#### Staff and Guests

Kwame Arhin – Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) - Maryland Division Regina Aris – Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Charles Baber – BMC Tyson Byrne – MDOT Lindsay Donnellon – FHWA – Maryland Division Nicole Hebert – BMC Dan Janousek – MDOT Keith Kucharek – BMC Zach Kaufman – BMC Zach Kaufman – BMC Todd Lang – BMC Ryan Long – Federal Transit Administration (FTA) Region 3 Brian Ryder – BMC Marcia Ways – MDE Brian Ulrich – Anne Arundel County