

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

TECHNICAL COMMITTEE

January 8, 2019 9:35 to 10:25 A.M.

MINUTES

The meeting was called to order at 9:35 A.M. by Mr. Steve Cohoon.

1. APPROVAL OF DECEMBER 4, 2018 MINUTES

Mr. Cohoon asked for approval of the minutes from the December meeting of the Technical Committee. Mr. Graham Young moved to approve the minutes with Mr. Dan Janousek seconding the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved.

2. RECOMMENDED ACTION ON RESOLUTION #19-16

The resolution is to establish updated safety performance measure targets for the region. Ms. Cindy Burch provided an overview of the safety performance measures, of which there are five, and the target-setting methodology used by the State and adopted by BRTB last year. Ms. Burch also explained how the performance measures are incorporated into several statewide planning documents including the MDOT SHA's Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP), MDOT MVA Highway Safety Office's Highway Safety Plan (HSP), and the MDOT Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP). Per federal regulations, MPOs are required to adopt targets for the five safety measures within 180 days of the state setting targets; MDOT set targets in August 2018 and BRTB targets must be set by February 26, 2019.

Several members of the committee asked questions related to safety efforts. There was a discussion related to the recent increase in traffic fatalities; while it's been seen nationwide, research has indicated that it is due to many factors of which economic changes and increases in vehicle miles traveled are two. With regards to local safety initiatives, questions related to law enforcement collaboration among agencies for reducing impaired driving and the development of a new regional pedestrian and bicyclist safety campaign were posed. Also, further explanation of the inter-relatedness of the HSIP, HSP, and SHSP was provided and copies were shared with all committee members.

Mr. Cohoon asked for a motion to approve the Resolution. Mr. Kwaku Duah made a motion to approve and Mr. David Cookson seconded the motion. The TC voted to recommend sending Resolution #19-16 to the BRTB for approval.

[PowerPoint: Safety Performance Targets]

1500 Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 ★ Phone 410-732-0500 ★ www.baltometro.org Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Queen Anne's County, MD Department of Transportation and Harford Transit. Non-Voting: MD Department of the Environment, MD Department of Planning, and MD Transit Administration.

3. RECOMMENDED ACTION ON RESOLUTION #19-17

The resolution is in support of application(s) for statewide funding in the Large Urban category of the FY 2020-2021 5310 Program. After a brief introduction to the 5310 Program, including the four program criteria, Mr. Robert Berger shared BMC staff comments on 17 applications, including 15 applications submitted for the Baltimore Urbanized Area (UZA) and 2 applications submitted for the Bel Air – Aberdeen UZA.

Mr. Berger noted that Baltimore UZA requests totaled \$4,497,950 while available funding is \$3,753,012. Likewise, Bel Air – Aberdeen UZA requests totaled \$485,031 while available funding is \$289,031. Staff recommended 16 applications for approval and recommended that 1 application be denied. Of the 16 applications recommended for approval, 11 were for full funding and 5 were for partial funding.

Mr. Cohoon asked for a motion to approve the Resolution. Mr. Joel Gallihue made a motion to approve and Ms. Mary Lane seconded the motion. The TC approved sending Resolution #19-17 to the BRTB for approval.

[PowerPoint: FTA Section 5310 Recommendations]

4. INFORMATION ON UPWP TASKS

- Maximize2045 update Mr. Todd Lang handed out a preliminary list of candidate projects with total scores and year of expenditure costs. He noted that only six projects of the 82 projects scored are "below the line." Mr. Terry Freeland explained that he had moved up two of the projects that were originally below the line since they were in the 2015 plan. Whether or not these two projects end up in the final preferred alternative is up to the committee members to decide. Mr. Lang asked committee members to review the list and let BMC staff know about any comments or concerns. If needed, staff can schedule a working session so that committee members can discuss the projects further and develop a final list.
- Definitions of TIP project phases Ms. Regina Aris shared with the members that BMC staff will be including definitions for project phases in the TIP to ensure consistency and streamline FHWA/FTA approval. The definitions had been shared with MDOT SHA in advance.
- FY 2020 Focus Areas Mr. Lang distributed a list of potential focus areas for the FY 2020 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP). These reflect input from committee members via an online survey. This list of potential focus areas will be a topic of discussion at the joint BRTB/Technical Committee retreat to be held on January 9.

5. OTHER BUSINESS

Mr. Lang distributed a notice of funding available (NOFA) from US DOT called INFRA. This is for large projects with applications due March 4, 2019. Criteria include project readiness and require 20 percent match or greater.

Technical Committee January 8, 2019 Page 3 of 3

ATTENDANCE

Members

Alex Brun – Maryland Department of the Environment Zach Chissell – Maryland Transit Administration (MDOT MTA) Ken Choi – Maryland Department of Planning Steve Cohoon – Queen Anne's County Department of Public Works David Cookson – Howard County Department of Planning & Zoning Kwaku Duah – Annapolis Department of Transportation Joel Gallihue – Harford County Department of Planning & Zoning Dan Janousek – Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Mary Lane - Carroll County Department of Planning Martha Arzu McIntosh – Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation Tara Penders – State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) Darlisa Thomas, Baltimore County Department of Transportation

Staff and Guests

Regina Aris - Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Bala Akundi - BMC Robert Berger – BMC Cindy Burch - BMC Don Halligan - BMC Todd Lang – BMC Toria Lassiter – MDOT SHA Rebecca Smith – BMC