

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

TECHNICAL COMMITTEE

February 2, 2021 9:30 to 9:57 A.M.

MINUTES

The meeting was called to order at 9:30 A.M. by Mr. David Cookson.

1. APPROVAL OF JANUARY 5, 2021 MINUTES

Mr. Cookson asked for approval of the minutes from the January meeting of the Technical Committee. Mr. Joel Gallihue moved to approve the minutes with Mr. Steve Cohoon seconding the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved.

2. RECOMMENDED ACTION ON RESOLUTION #21-18

Mr. Charles Baber introduced the resolution and asked if any member had questions or comments on previous InSITE presentation. Members were reminded that documentation on InSITE development, design, estimation, and validation are available on the BMC's website.

Mr. Cookson asked for a motion regarding Resolution #21-18. Mr. Kwaku Duah made a motion to send Resolution #21-18 to the BRTB as presented and Mr. Dan Janousek seconded the motion. Mr. Cookson asked for a vote on Resolution #21-18, with unanimous support from the members.

3. RECOMMENDED ACTION ON RESOLUTION #20-19

Mr. Keith Kucharek introduced the resolution. In Resolution #21-19, MDOT SHA is requesting to add the replacement of the bridge on MD 173 over Rock Creek in Anne Arundel County to the 2021-2024 TIP. MDOT SHA is requesting to convert funds for Engineering from state funds to federal funds.

Mr. Stephen Miller presented details of the project. This amendment adds the replacement of the bridge on MD 173 over Rock Creek in Anne Arundel County to the 2021-2024 TIP. Engineering funds would be converted from state funds to federal funds in the amount of \$531,000. Engineering funds will be added to FY 2021 (\$69,000 federal/\$84,000 matching), FY 2022 (\$138,000 federal/\$13,000 matching), and FY 2023 (\$138,000 federal/\$13,000 matching). The total cost of the bridge replacement is \$5.2M. Currently the project is not

1500 Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 ★ Phone 410-732-0500 ★ www.baltometro.org

Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Queen Anne's County, MD Department of Transportation and Annapolis Transit. Non-Voting: MD Department of the Environment, MD Department of Planning, and MD Transit Administration.

Technical Committee February 2, 2021 Page 2 of 3

funded for construction, however, MDOT SHA anticipates advertising for construction in fall of 2022 with construction completion in fall of 2023. MDOT SHA expects the construction to be completed in one construction season.

The existing 26'-10" bridge contains 2, 11'-5" lanes with 2, 1'-8" shoulders will be replaced with a 32'-11" bridge with 2, 11'-0" lanes and 2, 5'-5" bicycle compatible shoulders. MDOT SHA examined adding sidewalks to the bridge replacement project. Environmental features as well as existing utilities prohibited the addition of sidewalks.

Mr. Cookson asked for a motion regarding Resolution #21-19. Mr. Dan Janousek made a motion to send Resolution #21-19 to the BRTB as presented and Ms. Martha Arzu McIntosh seconded the motion. Mr. Cookson asked for a vote on Resolution #21-19, with unanimous support from the members.

[PowerPoint: February TIP Amendment for MDOT SHA]

4. UPWP ACTIVITIES

Mr. Todd Lang reviewed key aspects of the proposed budget which totals \$9M for FY 2022. The discussion turned to the focus areas for the coming year. Members reviewed additional tasks for Transportation Impact Studies and the Climate Change Toolkit. Additionally, the Transportation and Land Use Grant program will continue, along with a third segment of the Patapsco Regional Greenway, and RTP Corridors for analysis. Five new tasks were identified with conversation on the partners for the Historic Town Centers task.

The comment period for the FY 2022-2023 UPWP will begin on February 9th.

5. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business.

The Technical Committee adjourned at 9:57 A.M. with a motion from Mr. Gallihue and a second from Mr. Cohoon.

CLOSED SESSION

Mr. Cookson asked for a motion to open a Closed Session of the Technical Committee in order to discuss proposed RFPs. Mr. Gallihue made a motion to open the Closed Session and Mr. Cohoon seconded the motion at 9:58 A.M.

Ms. Aris introduced Mr. Bala Akundi to present an RFP. Mr. Akundi began by saying that staff believed it would be beneficial to combine the Bus Stop Assessment with the Transit Priority Task.

The bus stop assessment is intended to be a continuation of the initial work that will now focus on stand-along bus stops. Based on interest from the members, 1600 bus stops will be assessed.

Technical Committee February 2, 2021 Page 3 of 3

Mr. Akundi described the transit priority task as one patterned after the work MDOT MTA has initiated with the Transit Priority Toolkit. Nine corridors have been identified that represent high ridership corridors for the LOTS.

Mr. Cookson asked if members were ready to approve these tasks for release. Members indicated support for the tasks.

Mr. Cookson asked for a motion to close the Closed Session of the TC. Mr. Cohoon made a motion to close the session after discussion of the proposed RFP. Ms. Lane seconded the motion to close the session. The session ended at 10:10 A.M.

ATTENDANCE

Members

Alex Brun – Maryland Department of the Environment Ken Choi – Maryland Department of Planning Steve Cohoon – Queen Anne's County Department of Public Works David Cookson – Howard County Office of Transportation Sam Snead – Baltimore County Department of Public Works Kwaku Duah – Annapolis Department of Transportation Joel Gallihue – Harford County Department of Planning Dan Janousek – Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Mary Lane – Carroll County Department of Planning Zach Chissell – Maryland Transit Administration (MDOT MTA) Lisa Sirota – Maryland State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) Martha Arzu McIntosh – Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation Graham Young – Baltimore City Department of Transportation

Staff and Guests

Bala Akundi - Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Regina Aris - BMC Charles Baber - BMC Cindy Burch - BMC Rebecca Deibel - BMC Don Halligan – BMC Nicole Hebert - BMC Victor Henry - BMC Zach Kaufman – BMC Keith Kucharek - BMC Todd Lang - BMC Stephen Miller – MDOT SHA Peter Regan - MDOT SHA Brian Ryder - BMC