

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

TECHNICAL COMMITTEE

April 6, 2021 9:31 to 10:04 A.M.

MINUTES

The meeting was called to order at 9:31 A.M. by Mr. David Cookson.

1. APPROVAL OF MARCH 2, 2021 MINUTES

Mr. Cookson asked for approval of the minutes from the March meeting of the Technical Committee. Mr. Dan Janousek moved to approve the minutes with Mr. Steve Cohoon seconding the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved.

2. RECOMMENDED ACTION ON RESOLUTION #21-24

Mr. Todd Lang introduced the resolution to adopt the FY 2022-2023 UPWP. Mr. Lang reviewed the amount of funding available, what the source of funding is, and where the dollars are going (BMC, local jurisdictions, or consultants). Mr. Lang also covered several additional focus areas with available funding, ranging from the continuation of the climate resource toolkit as well as continuation of the transportation impact guidelines. There will also be a third segment of the Patapsco Regional Greenway and additional RTP corridors analyzed.

Mr. Lang described the 30-day comment period and stated that seven individuals/ organizations submitted comments. Most comments supported bike, pedestrian and transit activities in the UPWP. A draft set of responses was prepared by staff and members of various jurisdictions. All <u>comments and the responses are online</u> and have been shared with the BRTB who gave their approval to send out.

Mr. Cookson asked for a motion from the Committee. Mr. Janousek moved to adopt the 2022 UPWP with Mr. Graham Young seconding the motion. Mr. Cookson asked the members if there was further discussion, there was none. Then Mr. Cookson asked if anyone from the public had anything to ask or add. No one from the public voiced comments. Mr. Cookson asked Ms. Deibel to begin a roll call vote, the resolution was unanimously approved.

[PowerPoint: April Action Items]

1500 Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 ★ Phone 410-732-0500 ★ www.baltometro.org Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Queen Anne's County, MD Department of Transportation and Annapolis Transit. Non-Voting: MD Department of the Environment, MD Department of Planning, and MD Transit Administration.

3. RECOMMENDED ACTION ON RESOLUTION #20-25

Mr. Lang shared that the Disadvantaged Business Enterprise goal is set in conjunction with each UPWP. The goal adopted by the BRTB is based on a methodology developed by MDOT. The BRTB piggybacks based on being located in the same or a substantially similar market. The FY 2022 DBE goal is proposed for 31.7 percent. From April 2020 through September 2020 the percent of DBE participation in UPWP-related contracts was 23%. In the previous time frame of October 2019 through March 2020 the participation rate was 27%.

Mr. Cookson asked for a motion from the Committee. Mr. Cohoon moved to adopt the DBE goal with Mr. Janousek seconding the motion. Mr. Cookson asked the members if there was further discussion. Then Mr. Cookson asked if anyone from the public had anything to ask or add. No one from the public voiced comments. Mr. Cookson asked Ms. Deibel to begin a roll call vote, the resolution was unanimously approved.

[PowerPoint: April Action Items]

4. PRESENTATION: PAROLE MOBILITY STUDY

The Parole Mobility Study was recently completed through funding provided by the BRTB in the FY 2020 UPWP. Ms. Tanya Asman of Anne Arundel County and Mr. Kyle Roberts of Meade & Hunt presented the project background, existing conditions summary and project recommendations. Essentially, the Parole area is intended to be a dense development area that has resulted in significant congestion, partly due to the lack of multi-modal options. Hampering biking and walking is the presence of two major arterials, MD 665 and U.S. 50. Due to limitations on in-person meetings, the County held two virtual meetings to involve the public in the process.

The report will become part of the county's update of the Parole Master Plan. BMC was a partner in the project to handle contracting, facilitate meetings and provide technical support. The full <u>Parole Mobility Study</u> is available for review.

[PowerPoint: Parole Mobility Study]

5. UPWP ACTIVITIES

Mr. Lang reviewed the status of consultant tasks for FY 2021. Most tasks are underway with one notifying bidders and three corridor related tasks under development. Once corridors for the RTP analysis are determined, then the TSP corridors will be confirmed and finally corridors for CMP analysis will begin.

6. OTHER BUSINESS

Mr. Lang shared that the May BRTB meeting will follow the BMC Board of Directors (9-9:45 A.M.) on Friday April 16 and begin at 9:45 A.M.

Technical Committee April 6, 2021 Page 3 of 3

Mr. Cookson reminded members that the next meeting will be held on May 4, 2021.

The Technical Committee adjourned at 10:04 A.M. with a motion from Mr. Gallihue and a second from Mr. Cohoon.

ATTENDANCE

Members

Alex Brun – Maryland Department of the Environment Zach Chissell – Maryland Transit Administration (MDOT MTA) Ken Choi – Maryland Department of Planning Steve Cohoon – Queen Anne's County Department of Public Works David Cookson – Howard County Office of Transportation Sam Snead – Baltimore County Department of Public Works Kwaku Duah – Annapolis Department of Transportation Joel Gallihue – Harford County Department of Planning Dan Janousek – Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Mary Lane – Carroll County Department of Planning Stephen Miller – Maryland State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) Martha Arzu McIntosh – Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation (OOT)

Staff and Guests

Regina Aris - Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Tanya Asman – Anne Arundel County OOT Charles Baber - BMC Cindy Burch - BMC Rebecca Deibel - BMC Don Halligan – BMC Keith Kucharek - BMC Todd Lang – BMC Kyle Roberts – Mead Hunt Brian Ryder - BMC Eileen Singleton - BMC Lisa Sirota – MDOT SHA