

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

TECHNICAL COMMITTEE

February 1, 2022 9:32 to 10:16 A.M.

MINUTES

The meeting was called to order at 9:32 A.M. by Mr. Joel Gallihue.

1. APPROVAL OF JANUARY 2022 MINUTES

Mr. Gallihue asked for approval of the minutes from the January meeting of the Technical Committee. Mr. Kwaku Duah moved to approve the minutes with Mr. Graham Young seconding the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved.

2. PRESENTATION: DEMAND FOR PUBLIC TRANSIT & THE TRANSIT EXPERIENCE

Mr. Robert Berger discussed results from the 2018-2019 Maryland Travel Survey (MTS), specifically, an Analysis of Demand for Public Transit and The Transit Experience. The analysis used Baltimore region, rather than jurisdictional, data. In particular, he described and contrasted Bus and Rail riders by several demographic variables.

The first variable was Age Group. He noted that the largest shares of bus and rail riders are those 45-64 years old and then18-44 years old, a fact that is especially true of rail riders, probably because they are working age adults who commute by rail. He noted that the next largest share of bus and rail riders are those 65 years old or older. He also noted that, surprisingly, the share of 5-12 years old bus and rail riders exceeds the share of older children, including those 16-17 years old and 13-15 years old, perhaps because they are accompanying their parents.

The second variable was Household Income. He noted that the largest shares of bus riders are those with the lowest Household incomes and, in contrast, that the largest shares of rail riders are those with the highest Household incomes.

The third variables was Race & Ethnicity. He noted that the largest shares of bus riders are, in order, African Americans and Whites and, in contrast, that the largest shares of rail riders, are, in order, Whites and African Americans. He also noted that other racial and ethnic groups make up a much smaller share of bus and rail riders.

Mr. Berger also compared Bus and Rail riders by the trip purposes for which they used each mode. He noted that the share of bus riders, in rank order, by trip purpose, is:

1500 Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 ★ Phone 410-732-0500 ★ www.baltometro.org

Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Queen Anne's County, MD Department of Transportation and Annapolis Transit. Non-Voting: MD Department of the Environment, MD Department of Planning, and MD Transit Administration. Technical Committee February 1, 2022 Page 2 of 4

- Work (29.8%)
- Shop/Meal (25.7%)
- Personal Business/Other (22.5%)
- Social/Recreation (11.5%)
- School (10.5%)

In contrast, He noted that the share of rail riders, in rank order, by trip purpose, is:

- Work (61.4%)
- Shop/Meal (14.4%)
- Personal Business/Other (12.9%)
- Social/Recreation (5.9%)
- School (5.4%)

[PowerPoint: 2018-2019 Maryland Travel Survey (MTS) Results – Demand for Public Transit and the Transit Experience]

3. UPWP ACTIVITIES

Draft 2022-2023 UPWP – Mr. Todd Lang reviewed the progress on the UPWP since the adoption of the 2022-2023 document last April 2021. That progress includes work to get this year's addendum ready for public release. Of note, Congress has not signed a budget bill for FY 2022 which will include the IIJA/BIL funds. That has necessitated staff to identify five focus areas in one appendix for full approval, and place the remaining nine projects in a separate appendix that are contingent on that federal action.

The five projects include: Safe System Approach, Thirty Percent Bicycle Trail Design, RTP LOTS Skills and Technology Support, Expanding Coverage for Electric Vehicle Charging Stations, and Regional and Local CAV Planning. The nine projects that may be delayed include: Corridor Access Management Plans, Vision for Integrated Regional Bicycle Network, Transportation and Land Use Connection Grants, Growing Transit Post-COVID, Coordination of Human Service Transportation Providers, Peer Study of MPO/COG Equity Best Practices, Assisting Local Unified Master Transportation Plans, Evaluation of "Fares, Fees & Fines" for Undue Burdens, and RTP Corridors.

Mr. Lang shared that the five focus areas that are lined up to move ahead first will provide \$40,000 to each member to provide support. The current Continuing Resolution ends on February 18, so the situation may be remedied prior to the April approval of the UPWP. Mr. Lang then asked the chair to ask for support to release the draft Addendum on February 8 for public comment. The TC approved that request.

[PowerPoint: Addendum to the FY 2022-2023 UPWP for Release]

• **Project submittal information for Resilience 2050** – Mr. Zach Kaufman shared the updated project submittal form for *Resilience 2050*, highlighting new questions related to highway safety, transit safety and security, environmental conservation, complete streets,

Technical Committee February 1, 2022 Page 3 of 4

Environmental Justice, and congestion management strategies. The call for projects for *Resilience 2050* will be held from April to June of 2022.

[Display: Resilience 2050 Online Project Submittal Form]

• **Conformity Methodology letter** – Due to the late time, the TC requested that Ms. Nicole Hebert present this information in March.

4. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no additional business to come in front of the Technical Committee.

Mr. Gallihue closed the meeting at 10: 16 and gave the gavel over to Ms. Eileen Singleton to run the Congestion Management Committee.

Next meeting: March 1, 2022

ATTENDANCE

Members

Ken Choi – Maryland Department of Planning Steve Cohoon – Queen Anne's County Department of Public Works David Cookson – Howard County Office of Transportation Angelica Daniels – Baltimore County Department of Public Works & Transportation Kwaku Agyemang Duah – Annapolis Department of Transportation Joel Gallihue – Harford County Department of Planning Dan Janousek – Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Mary Lane – Carroll County Department of Transportation Patrick McMahon (for Jade Clayton) – Maryland Transit Administration (MDOT MTA) Lisa Minnick Sirota – Maryland State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) Catherine Salarano – Maryland Department of the Environment Brian Ulrich – Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation (OOT) Graham Young – Baltimore City Department of Transportation

Staff and Guests

Regina Aris - Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Robert Berger - BMC Rebecca Deibel - BMC Monica Haines Benkhedda - BMC Don Halligan – BMC Vivek Hariharan – RS&H Nicole Hebert - BMC Victor Henry - BMC Zach Kaufman - BMC Keith Kucharek - BMC Technical Committee February 1, 2022 Page 4 of 4

Todd Lang – BMC Sheila Mahoney - BMC Charlene Mingus, BMC Eileen Singleton – BMC Ed Stylc - BMC