

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

# **TECHNICAL COMMITTEE**

February 6, 2024 9:30 to 10:30 A.M.

# MINUTES

### 1. APPROVAL OF JANUARY 2024 MINUTES

Mr. Dan Janousek asked for approval of the minutes from the January meeting of the Technical Committee. Mr. David Cookson moved to approve the minutes with Ms. Angelica Daniel seconding the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved.

### 2. RECOMMENDED ACTION ON RESOLUTION #24-14

Ms. Heather Lowe, MDTA, discussed the Bay Crossing study, a tiered National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) process to improve mobility, travel, reliability, and safety at the existing Bay Bridge. Melissa Williams highlighted capacity constraints and mobility issues at the Bay Bridge, emphasizing the need for future maintenance and equity considerations. She also mentioned the importance of stakeholder input and the financial viability of the project. Catherine Salarano asked about the potential impact of increased marine traffic on ship clearance limits, while Michael Scepaniak questioned the cost-effectiveness of a third span bridge. Steve Cohoon expressed concerns about projected volumes on the bridge and the need for adequate capacity and flexibility in the design. The discussion concluded with Dan Janousek MDOT suggested a more in depth briefing and discussion at a future meeting.

Mr. Janousek asked for a motion and a second. Mr. Kwaku Duah offered the motion and Mr. Sam Kahl made the second. The members unanimously approved the Purpose & Need statement for the Bay Crossing Study.

#### [PowerPoint: Bay Crossing Purpose & Need]

#### 3. RECOMMENDED ACTION ON RESOLUTION #24-15

Ms. Regina Aris presented a quadrennial update to the Title VI program, which is based on the Civil Rights Act and aims to combat discrimination and ensure equal participation in programs and policies. She highlighted the policy statement, assurances, and a title 6 notice, as well as the Public Participation Plan, Limited English Proficiency Plan, Disadvantaged Business Enterprise program, and Americans with Disabilities Act. Sheila Mahoney was introduced as the new Title VI Coordinator Program administrator. Questions about 508 compliance and the

1500 Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 ★ Phone 410-732-0500 ★ www.baltometro.org

Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Queen Anne's County, MD Department of Transportation and RTA of Central Maryland. Non-Voting: MD Department of the Environment, MD Department of Planning, and MD Transit Administration.

purpose of the plan were clarified, and the team voted to approve the quadrennial update to the Title VI program.

Mr. Janousek asked for a motion and a second. Mr. Duah offered the motion and Mr. Steve Cohoon made the second. The members unanimously approved the resolution for Title VI.

## [PowerPoint: Title VI Plan Update]

# 4. RECOMMENDED ACTION ON RESOLUTION #24-16

Mr. Keith Kucharek introduced Resolution #24-16. Harford County on behalf of the City of Aberdeen requested to amend the FY 2024-2027 TIP to add one new project; the Aberdeen Transit Oriented Development Station Square Project. This project will be presented to the Interagency Consultation Group on February 7, 2024. Ms. Phyllis Grover from the City of Aberdeen presented the project.

Ms. Grover detailed the existing logistics of the Aberdeen Train Station. The Northeast corridor right of way is utilized by Amtrak, MARC, Norfolk Southern and CSX. Amtrak owns the Aberdeen train station and the tunnels. MDOT SHA owns the pedestrian and vehicular overpasses, and MDOT MTA manages the train station, tunnel, security and owns several parking lots. Amtrak has a monthly ridership of about 1,500 monthly riders and MARC averages about 200 daily riders. Pre-pandemic, 7,500 riders per month boarded Harford LINK buses at the train station.

The Aberdeen Station Square TOD was designated in June 2010 and included in the Aberdeen TOD Master Plan in 2012. In 2022, the Aberdeen TOD Station Square concept gained Maryland Sustainable Community designation.

The existing concrete overpass was constructed by MDOT SHA in 1982. This created both physical and economic barriers separating City residents from US 40 and downtown Aberdeen. The pedestrian overpass is not ADA compliant by today's standards, creating challenges for residents, commuters and visitors.

Proposed improvements include removal of the existing overpass, construction of a new underpass with amenities such as greenscaping, and development of terraced plazas connecting the east and west sides of the station.

The total cost of the project is \$55 million. This amendment includes \$5.0 million (\$4.0 million in FTA Community Project Funding/\$1.0 million City of Aberdeen matching funds). Funding will be used for preliminary engineering, geotechnical exploration, environmental studies and NEPA development.

Mr. Janousek asked for a motion and a second. Mr. Sam Kahl offered the motion and Ms. Angelica Daniel made the second. The members unanimously approved the proposed TIP Amendment.

### [PowerPoints: TIP Amendment for Aberdeen TOD]

#### 5. UPWP UPDATES

**FY 2025 UPWP Addendum Discussion** – Mr. Todd Lang discussed the draft addendum to the Fiscal Year 2025 Unified Planning Work Program. The committee agreed on a 30-day public review of the draft, with a total budget of approximately 10.6 million dollars. The committee also reviewed staff resources and local share for different regional planning activities.

### [PowerPoint: Draft FY 2025 UPWP for Release]

# 6. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business. The Technical Committee adjourned and the Congestion Management Committee commenced.

# ATTENDANCE

#### Members

Steve Cohoon – Queen Anne's County Department of Public Works David Cookson – Howard County Office of Transportation Angelica Daniel – Baltimore County Department of Public Works & Transportation Kwaku Duah – Annapolis Department of Transportation Tina James – Maryland Department of Planning Dan Janousek – Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Tavon Hawkins – MDOT State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) Clare Stewart – Carroll County Department of Planning Patrick McMahon – MDOT Maryland Transit Administration (MDOT MTA) Sam Kahl – Harford County Department of Planning Catherine Salarano – Maryland Department of the Environment Will Etheridge (for Stu Sirota) – Baltimore City Department of Transportation Brian Ulrich – Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation (OOT)

### Staff and Guests

Ben Allen – MDOT SHA Regina Aris - Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Charles Baber - BMC Darren Bean – MDOT SHA Brooke Bogdan - guest Cindy Burch - BMC Rebecca Deibel - BMC Blake Fisher - BMC Louisa Glazunova - BMC Technical Committee February 6, 2024 Page 4 of 4

Phyllis Grover - City of Aberdeen Victor Henry - BMC John - guest Zach Kaufman - BMC Shawn Kimberly - BMC Keith Kucharek - BMC Todd Lang – BMC Heather Lowe – Maryland Transportation Authority (MDTA) Sheila Mahoney - BMC Anna Marshall - BMC Charlene Mingus – BMC Daniel Paschall - East Coast Greenway Brian Ryder – BMC Michael Scepaniak - Strong Towns Baltimore Eileen Singleton – BMC Ed Stylc – BMC Melissa Williams - MDTA